Adams & Glass

Conductor John Adams leads a world premiere by his fellow composer Philip Glass to celebrate our Centennial.


  • John ADAMS: Grand Pianola Music
  • Philip GLASS: Symphony No. 12, Lodger, from the music of David Bowie and Brian Eno (world premiere, LA Phil commission)


  • Los Angeles Philharmonic
  • John Adams conductor
  • Marc-André Hamelin piano
  • Orli Shaham piano
  • James McVinnie piano
  • Zanaida Robles vocals
  • Holly Sedillos vocals
  • Kristen Toedtman vocals

About This Performance

Adams’ over-the-top Grand Pianola Music precedes a major premiere, composed for our Centennial by Minimalist icon Philip Glass, his third symphony based on David Bowie’s Berlin Trilogy.


Pre and Post-concert Event

Come as you are to Casual Fridays. These shorter concerts begin with a musician introducing the program. After the concert, you can stay in your seat for the Q&A onstage or go straight to the after-party for drinks with orchestra members.

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability subject to change.