Skip to page content
  • WDCH
  • David Robertston and the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra Come to Walt Disney Concert Hall As Part of La Phil’s Visiting Orchestras Series 2009/10 Season
  • Apr. 14, 2010
  • Violinist Gil Shaham is the Featured Soloist in a Program of Music by Mozart and Stravinsky

    WEDNESDAY, APRIL 14, 2010, AT 8 PM

    The Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of native Californian David Robertson, brings a program of music by Igor Stravinsky and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart to Walt Disney Concert Hall, Wednesday, April 14, at 8 p.m. The orchestra, in its Walt Disney Concert Hall debut, is joined by violinist Gil Shaham performing Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 2 and Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto in D. The concert, part of the LA Phil’s 2009/10 Visiting Orchestras series, is also part of the orchestra’s four-city, five-concert tour of California.

    The program opens with Stravinsky’s Danses concertantes, the first of the composer’s works to be composed entirely in the United States. Ostensibly written for the concert hall, it became a stage work in 1944 after George Balanchine choreographed the score in New York for Col. de Basil’s Ballet Russe. It remained a stage staple for companies such as the New York City Ballet and London’s Royal Ballet, and is rarely performed in the concert hall.

    Next on the program is Shaham playing Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 2. The composer’s second violin concerto was written in 1775, when the composer was just 18 years old.

    Following after intermission is Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto in D, also performed by Shaham. The piece, written for Polish-American violinist Samuel Dushkin, had its world premiere in 1931 with the composer conducting the Berlin Radio Symphony. Like Danses concertantes, Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto became a stage work choreographed by George Balanchine – initially in 1941, as Balustrade for Col. de Basil’s Ballet Russe, and a second time after 1972 with new choreography titled, simply Violin Concerto, for his own New York City Ballet.

    The program closes with Mozart’s Symphony No. 36 in C, K. 425 (“Linz”), written while the composer and his bride were staying in that city. Per a letter to his father, Mozart wrote the symphony “at breakneck speed,” though it is precisely worked out. The “Linz” Symphony is the first of Mozart’s five great final symphonies.

    David Robertson served as director of the LA Phil 2007/08 season’s Concrete Frequency festival, an exploration of music and the urban experience. Gil Shaham is a frequent guest soloist of the Los Angeles Philharmonic. He last appeared at Walt Disney Concert Hall earlier this season.

    This concert concludes the LA Phil’s Visiting Orchestras series 2009/10 season.

    The concert is preceded by an Upbeat Live discussion which is free to ticket-holders, and occurs in BP Hall one hour prior to the performance. Veronika Krausas, composer and Professor at the Thornton School of Music at USC, hosts.

    For full artist biographies, please visit:

    The Los Angeles Philharmonic Association, under the vibrant leadership of Gustavo Dudamel, presents the finest in orchestral and chamber music, recitals, new music, jazz, world music and holiday concerts at two of the most remarkable locations anywhere to experience music – Walt Disney Concert Hall and the Hollywood Bowl. In addition to a 30-week winter subscription season at Walt Disney Concert Hall, the LA Phil presents a 12-week summer festival at the legendary Hollywood Bowl, summer home of the Los Angeles Philharmonic and home of the Hollywood Bowl Orchestra. In fulfilling its commitment to the community, the Association’s involvement with Los Angeles extends to educational concerts, children's programming and community concerts, ever seeking to provide inspiration and delight to the broadest possible audience.


    WEDNESDAY, APRIL 14, 2010, AT 8 PM


    111 S. Grand Avenue, Los Angeles

    Visiting Orchestras


    DAVID ROBERTSON, conductor

    GIL SHAHAM, violin

    STRAVINSKY Danses concertantes

    MOZART Violin Concerto No. 2

    STRAVINSKY Violin Concerto in D

    MOZART Symphony No. 36 in C, K. 425 (“Linz”)

    The concert is preceded by an Upbeat Live discussion which is free to ticket-holders and occurs in BP Hall one hour prior to the performance. Veronika Krausas, composer and Professor at the Thornton School of Music at USC, hosts.

    Tickets ($55 - $215) are on sale now at the Walt Disney Concert Hall Box Office, online at, or via credit card by phone at 323.850.2000. A limited number of $10 rush tickets for seniors and full time students may be available at the Walt Disney Concert Hall box office two hours prior to the performance. Valid identification is required; one ticket per person; cash only. Groups of 12 or more may be eligible for special discounts for selected concerts and seating areas. For information, please call 323.850.2000.

    # # #

  • Contact:

    Sophie Jefferies,, 213.972.3422; Lisa White,, 213.972.3408; Photos: 213.972.3034