Skip to page content

Play Your Part, support the LA Phil.  Your belief in the power of music to heal and transform makes our work possible.   Give Now

${{ price.displayPrice }}
Give Now

Please select a donation amount.

Georg Friedrich Haas


About this Artist

Born: 1953, Graz, AustriaHaas studied at the Musikhochschule in Graz, where he taught for many years. He also studied at Darmstädt and IRCAM, and has been Professor of Composition at Columbia University since 2013.His music, which includes eight operas, eight string quartets, and a number of concertos, explores spectral developments and sonic experiments with microtones and overtones, and the dense micropolyphony of Ligeti.Further listening:de terrae fine (2001)Miranda Cuckson, viola (Urlicht)Limited approximations (2010)Concerto for 6 pianos in 12-tone tuningExperimentalstudio des SWR,Sylvain Cambreling (Neos)