Skip to page content

Play Your Part, support the LA Phil.  Your belief in the power of music to heal and transform makes our work possible.   Give Now

${{ price.displayPrice }}
Give Now

Please select a donation amount.


Listen to audio:

Length: c. 14 minutes

About this Piece

César Franck’s (1822-1890) Fantaisie in A (published as the first in a set of three organ pieces) opens with a six-note motive, the first three notes of which outline an A-major triad, stated twice, followed by another twobar motive stated twice. These two repetitions combine to form an eight-bar melody that recurs throughout the 13-minute piece. Emulating a cantor with a response from a four-part chorus, the opening section transforms into something more Wagnerian by the end. Motives are introduced, developed, and finally played simultaneously, culminating in a grand climax.