Skip to page content

Play Your Part, support the LA Phil.  Your belief in the power of music to heal and transform makes our work possible.   Give Now

${{ price.displayPrice }}
Give Now

Please select a donation amount.


Listen to audio:

Length: c. 8 minutes

About this Piece

The first Organ Symphony by Charles Widor (1844-1937) consists of seven movements, the fifth of which carries the title “Marche Pontificale,” perhaps drawing influence from a similar march of the same title by Charles Gounod. Widor uses an A-B-A form, commencing and ending with a loud melody in chords and pedals in octaves, with the dense, busy contrasting section maintaining the unyielding pomp of the opening.