Skip to page content


Composed: 2021-2022

Length: c. 13 minutes

Orchestration: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, timpani, 2 percussion (player 1: vibraphone, glockenspiel, bass drum, temple blocks, 2 tom-toms; player 2: tam-tam, crotales, chimes, wood blocks, 2 bongos, guiro), prepared piano, organ, and strings 

About this Piece

No oyes ladrar a los perros is composed after the homonymous tale by the Mexican writer Juan Rulfo. The musical work evokes the notion of time and space found in Rulfo’s writings. In musical terms, analogous phenomena can be heard, perception opens up and the auditor is invited to cross the threshold into a dreamlike atmosphere with strong visual sense. The role of memory and perception is fundamental in the development of the non-lineal musical narrative. The literary manifests itself in the way time is perceived unravelling alternative perspectives. The harmonic construction is defined by the organ and the ensemble is articulated in a spectral cloud.

—Erika Vega